2013 Summer Break


Now Playing: Overgrown [album] – James Blake

I’ve been so busy, I haven’t left any time for myself. For the last two weeks, and for one week, I have began my extended studies program at the Culinary Institute of America. In addition to the hotel school, I’ll be spending a semester and change at the CIA getting an Associates in Culinary Arts. I am so excited, and cannot wait to get more familiar with classic cooking techniques. While I’ve always focused on pastry, it is so beneficial to work on knife skills, and prepare savory foods.

Friday was my twenty-first birthday. While birthdays have been difficult for me, after my grandmother passed away, I feel good this year. I’m finally starting to build an idea of what the rest of my life looks like, and in that I take great comfort.

Image
Braised Short Rib with reduction, roasted root vegetables, and parmesan polenta

Also, since I’ve been living on my own in an apartment here in Ithaca while doing the culinary program, I’ve discovered the most amazing new product to come to Wegmans for those with a sweet tooth: Gü Puds. They are a line of delectable desserts, in individual sized portions, from chocolate soufflé to cheesecake, and fruit slices. The branding is amazing, the chic packaging and decadent flavors is so refreshing to see in the chilled section of the grocery store. Some of the desserts come in these beautiful, reusable glass ramekins. They’re not artificial and use real ingredients- perfect for me to have around when I want to take a break from the kitchen!

from http://www.gupuds.com/
the Chocolate Soufflé Puds
Re-Using the Ramekins idea from the Gü Facebook Page

Oh, and Happy [almost] Summer!

Love.

-B

Comment !

