Ithaca/Cornell is [gorges] Home .


Happy end of summer! I know it seems sad- but the weather seems to cool down as we all start a new academic year. It’s not as bad as it seems;; we get new books (new pens, pencils! Yay! …yes I’m geeking right now) but also… we get a chance to start new.

For me, this year is particularly difficult. It’s about two months shy of my grandmother’s passing, I’ve started going to Cornell, which means I relocated ALL THE WAY up to Ithaca, and left Sherlock in actual New York.

Growing up in the same place my whole life, I wasn’t comfortable with change or moving until college. This year, I embraced it, and am enjoying every second. I’ve already met so many passionate people, and finally feel like I’m exactly where I should be. I do miss Smith, but that’s all part of the process.

First, here are some images of the past two weeks!

cutting the cake; The day before I left to Cornell, I did this wedding cake for Gina! Congratulations to her and her husband, Luis.
groom’s cake !

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

So today, I am sick. It’s still warm (though probably not for long) and I’m already sick. Fever, cold, cough, the whole nine yards. So, in honor, a twist on my matzo ball soup; Recipe for that is (HERE) Add celery, carrots, garlic, onion, parsley, shredded, cooked, chicken, onion, and thyme. This way, you’re not starved all day! Since I’m just one person, I have a lot left over, and wind up freezing it to make a winter reserve, since my immune system does NOT like the cold! With some oil in your pot, add the veggies and chicken at the same time, before adding the chicken stock, and do the matzo balls last. –don’t forget to DATE the soup if you’re freezing it.

The best part about Long Island and New York City seems to be the fact that I don’t have to make my own soup when I’m sick. Up in college, I seem to have no such luck.

Until next time, lovelies!

-B

Comment !

