Rabanada


Before posting a new recipe, I just wanted to share that I had the honor of meeting and spending lunch with hospitality royalty and Smith College alum, Marilyn Carlson Nelson. In addition to being listed as one of Forbes most powerful women in the world, Carlson oversees some of the biggest names in the Hospitality Industry, from Radisson Hotels & Resorts, to T.G.I Friday.

I know the picture is super blurry, but I got a quick picture before she continued her day in Northampton. To read up on some of Marilyn’s accomplishments, check out her short bio on forbes.com

I look forward to keeping in touch with her!

Image

Usually served on christmas in Brazil, Rabanada is a combination of French Toast, Bread Pudding, a Churro, and a beignet. I’m a huge fan of cinnamon sugar, so this made a perfect brunch for Gui and I this morning. I know I cheated a little bit since it’s not christmas, but I decided to be festive anyway. This recipe is a variation on one from his aunt, who still lives in Sao Paulo.

Ingredients

Oil for frying

10 slices of bread/baguette of any kind sliced into 10-20 slices

1 Can Condensed Milk

3 Large Eggs

1/2 Tablespoon Vanilla Extract (Optional)

3/4 cup milk, any kind is fine

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon cocoa powder (optional)

To Make:

Heat oil to about 350 degrees

Combine all wet ingredients, and whisk in salt

dip slices in the wet mixture, like french toast, and let soak while oil heats (leave soaking bread in mixture over night, in the refrigerator to make the interior like bread pudding)

combine sugar, cinnamon, and cocoa powered in a bool large enough to coat slices (like chicken cutlets)

fry slices in oil, and brown (like french toast). flip and brown other side

allow slices to cool on a paper towel lined plate

coat both sides of bread slice in cinnamon sugar mixture

Serve warm, I love it with fruit!

Enjoy!

I also made white chocolate mousse, and was rewarded with the cutest french whip keychain from Chelsea Market, one of our favorite culinary super centers!

Off to finish the semester strong! I’ll be back in NYC before we know it.

Love.

-B

Comment !

